LatticeNet School on Computing in HEP @Exascale

Benasque Center for Physics

Benasque Center for Physics

Alejandro Vaquero (Univ. of Utah), Isabel Campos Plasencia (IFCA)

The Spanish thematic network on Lattice QCD, LatticeNET, funded by the Ministry of Science and Innovation, announces the organization of the school: “Computing Challenges in HEP @Exascale” to take place at the Benasque Center for Sciences (Benasque, Spain), from 19th to 23rd of September 2022. 

The school aims to develop a broad interest program, oriented to generate synergies across the community. We welcome Master's, PhD´s. Students and Early Career Postdocs from the extended HEP community. Topics will cover aspects of general applicability in scientific computing for High Energy Physics using as guidelines the current status of Lattice QCD, LHC data analysis and Phenomenology codes requirements.

The list of topics to be addressed contains:

  • State of the play in HEP large scale simulations: challenges ahead towards exploiting  Exascale-size computing to solve fundamental problems.

  • Numerical approaches: algorithms, from design to implementation.  

  • Artificial intelligence: Machine learning.

  • Scientific programming in heterogeneous architectures, from CPU, to GPUs and FPGAs.

  • Quantum Computing 

  • Evolution of computing infrastructures for HEP: requirements versus current hardware evolution.

  • Handling Scientific Software Lifecycle: state-of-the-art tools and best practices in scientific code development from a practitioner's point of view.

  • The data challenge: from generation to preservation. 

The school has capacity for about 40 students. More details and registration procedures will be updated in this page by mid February 2022.

Confirmed Lecturers (list to be expanded):

  • Simone Bacchio (Cyprus Institute)
  • Tommaso Boccali (INFN-Pisa, Italy)
  • Mattia Bruno (Univ. of Milano/CERN)
  • Luigi Del Debbio (Univ. of Edinburgh)
  • Patrick Fuhrmann (DESY, Germany)
  • Jorge Gomes (LIP, Portugal)
  • Antonio Gordillo (Univ. of Extremadura, Spain)
  • Rajan Gupta (Los Alamos Natl. Lab. USA)
  • Martin Lüscher (CERN and AEC - Bern, CH)
  • Agostino Patella (Univ. of Humboldt, Germany)
  • Antonio Rago (CERN and Univ. of Plymouth, UK)
  • Alberto Ramos (IFIC-CSIC, Spain)
  • Juan J. Ruiz-Lorenzo (Univ. of Extremadura and BIFI, Spain)