Nov 7 – 10, 2022
Museo de la Ciencia CosmoCaixa- Barcelona
Europe/Madrid timezone

The Athena Science Study Team and the Athena Community Office are organizing the "Exploring the Hot and Energetic Universe: the third scientific conference dedicated to the Athena X-ray Observatory" to be held from 7-10 November 2022 at CosmoCaixa in Barcelona in a hybrid format.

Conference organisers assume that all participants share our commitment to  preserving our environment as much as possible while planning your trip. Furthermore, be aware that the meeting is expected to be a friendly environment for any diversity favouring respect and inclusion.

Museo de la Ciencia CosmoCaixa- Barcelona
Carrer d'Isaac Newton, 26, 08022 Barcelona
Go to map


  • Athena mission status and technology development.
  • Galaxies and galaxy clusters.
  • Missing baryons and WHIM.
  • Feedback in AGN and star-forming galaxies.
  • Formation and evolution of supermassive black holes.
  • Physics of black hole accretion.
  • Isolated and accreting neutron stars.
  • Pulsars, pulsar wind nebulae, SNR and ISM physics.
  • Star formation and evolution.
  • Planets, exo-planets and habitability.
  • Multi-messenger astrophysics.
  • Early Gamma-Ray Bursts and the transient X-ray sky.
  • Physics beyond the standard model.   

Invited Speakers

James AirdMaría Celeste ArtaleMarc AyreDidier Barret
Marcos BavdazAlice BorgheseGraziella Branduardi-RaymontStefano Ettori
Chris EvansMargherita GiustiniGünther HasingerHironori Matsumoto
Giorgio MattAndrea MerloniMatt MiddletonMonika Mościbrodzka
Kirpal NandraFlorian PacaudAnne PacrosMarguerite Pierre
Manami SasakiAurora SimionescuRandall SmithEleonora Troja
Mike WatsonAnna WattsHiroya Yamaguchi 

Keynote Speaker

Prof. Jocelyn Bell Burnell (Oxford University): public talk on the 8th of November.


Scientific Organising Committee: 

Nanda Rea (ASST; Chair, ES), Matteo Guainazzi (ESA Project Scientist; co-Chair), Didier Barret (X-IFU PI, FR),            
Kirpal Nandra (WFI PI, DE), Francisco J. Carrera (Athena Community Office, ES), Massimo Cappi (ASST; IT),           
Elisa Costantini (ASST; NL), Judith Croston (ASST; UK), Anne Decourchelle (ASST; FR), Jan Willem den Herder         
(ASST; NL), Luigi Piro (ASST; IT), Thomas Reiprich (ASST; DE), Norbert Werner (ASST; CZ),   Randall Smith        
(ASST; NASA) & Hironori Matsumoto (ASST; JAXA).


Local Organising Committee: 

Silvia Martínez-Núñez (Chair, ACO), Alice Borghese (Chair, ICE-CSIC, IEEC, Barcelona), Maite Ceballos (ACO),     
Stefano Ascenzi (ICE-CSIC, IEEC, Barcelona), Francesco Coti Zelati (ICE-CSIC, IEEC,Barcelona), Clara Dehman     
(ICE-CSIC, IEEC, Barcelona), Vanessa Graber (ICE-CSIC, IEEC, Barcelona), Abubakr Ibrahim (ICE-CSIC, IEEC,    
Barcelona), Alessio Marino (ICE-CSIC, IEEC, Barcelona), Celsa Pardo Araujo (ICE-CSIC, IEEC, Barcelona),    
Emilie Parent (ICE-CSIC, IEEC, Barcelona), Michele Ronchi ((ICE-CSIC, IEEC, Barcelona) & Rajath  Sathyaprakash 
(ICE-CSIC, IEEC, Barcelona), Michele Ronchi (ICE-CSIC, IEEC, Barcelona)